image desccription

Regional Housing Authorities

In 2009, MFA was mandated by the state legislature to consolidate and reorganize New Mexico's seven regional housing authorities and provide oversight and training to the new agencies. There are now three regional authorities operating under MFA's supervision, all of which continue to receive significant technical assistance and training in order to increase their ability to deliver affordable housing in rural areas of the state.

Regional housing authorities are the primary housing service providers in rural areas. As small local housing authorities close due to budget cuts, the role of regional housing authorities becomes even more critical.

Regional authorities are responsible for creating partnerships with local governments, state entities, nonprofit organizations and the private sector to plan, finance and create affordable housing. In addition, they operate federal programs such as Section 8 or Housing Choice Voucher Program and the Low Rent Program, also referred to as public housing. These programs provide rental assistance and subsidized rentals for households with incomes that earn 80 percent or less of the area median income. 

Contact information for each of the regional housing authorities is listed in the links below.

Northern Regional Housing Authority


525 Ranchitos Rd. Unit #962
Taos, NM 87571

Executive Staff

Richard Frye – Executive Director

Michael Cabral – Deputy Director

Amy Quintana – Comptroller

Executive Administrative Assistant – Irene Martinez

Service Area

Northern Regional Housing Authority region is comprised of the following counties:
Cibola, Taos, McKinley, Rio Arriba, San Juan, San Miguel, Mora, Los Alamos, Colfax and Sandoval.

Currently nine of the 10 counties in the northern region of the state are represented.

  • Santiago Chavez, Board Chair – Sandoval
  • Della Barrone, Vice Chair – Taos
  • Lauren Reichelt, Secretary – Rio Arriba
  • Paul Andrus, Treasurer – Los Alamos
  • Ryan Downey, Commissioner – San Juan
  • Tim Gallegos, Commissioner – San Miguel
  • Alfred Abeita, Commissioner – McKinley
  • Garland Moore, Commissioner – Cibola
  • Rayetta Trujillo, Commissioner – Colfax

Western Regional Housing Authority


2545 North Silver Street
Silver City, NM 88062

Executive Staff

Cathy DeMarco – Executive Director

Sonia Flores – Deputy Director

Service Area

Western Regional Housing Authority region is comprised of the following counties:
Grant, Hidalgo, Luna, Sierra, Socorro, Catron, Torrance, and Valencia.

Currently one of the eight counties is represented in the Board of Commissioners as noted below:

  • Beverly Kostelnik, Board Chair – Luna
  • Vera Turner, Vice Chair – Catron
  • Awish Baechtle, Resident Commissioner – Grant
  • Vincent Barrett, Treasurer – Sierra
  • Patricia Lincoln, Commissioner – Torrance
  • Carol Anaya, Commissioner – Valencia 
  • Jackie Muncy, Commissioner - Socorro

Eastern Regional Housing Authority


106 E. Reed St.
Roswell, NM 88202

Executive Staff

Chris Herbert, Executive Director

Irene Andazola, Deputy Director

Olivia Cruz, Finance Director

Service Area

Eastern Regional Housing Authority region is comprised of the following counties:
Chaves, De Baca, Eddy, Guadalupe, Harding, Lea, Lincoln, Otero, Quay, Roosevelt, Union and Curry.

Currently eight of the twelve counties are represented in the Board of Commissioners as noted below:

  • Allen Sparks, Board Chair – DeBaca County
  • Michael O’Hara, Vice Chair – Otero County
  • Mary Beth Fowler, Secretary – Lincoln County
  • Waymon Dowdy Sr., Treasurer – Curry County
  • Ella Turner, Commissioner – Lea County
  • Bill Birdwell, Commissioner – Union County
  • Louisa Madrid, Commissioner – Eddy County
  • Dan Stoddard, Commissioner – Guadalupe County
Directories & Service Providers

Not-for-profit organizations that provide emergency shelter, homelessness assistance and emergency rent and utility assistance.

link to more info >

We'll send you up to two copies of MFA's Housing Services Directory at no charge.

link to more info >

MFA's Housing Services Directory has listings for lenders, REALTORS, governmental agencies, property owners and managers and not-for-profit organizations.

download pdf >

Regional Housing Authorities

link to more info >
RFPs and RFQs

All RFP and RFQ Templates and Links

link to more info >

External Audit Services RFP

link to more info >

New Mexico Housing Trust Fund Rental Assistance RFP

link to more info >
Income Limits

HOME Income Limits and Maximum Rents

link to more info >

ESG Income Limits and Fair Market Rents

link to more info >